Spicy Sweet Potato Chicken Stirfry

If you’ve followed my blog for any length of time, you know I love fusing two different cuisines. Almost any meal can turn into a healthy stirfry. I make an Italian Stirfry that’s so good it’s become a monthly favorite here.

Today’s meal came to me when I was looking in my pantry and noticed I had a sweet potato…I couldn’t figure out when I bought it. I thought I better use it before I have to throw it out. My husband hates when I throw out produce because I hadn’t gotten around to making the recipe I had in mind when I purchased it. I’m sure I’m not alone in this conundrum. It goes in the same basket as losing socks in the dryer and that’s a whole other story I’m not touching.

Sliced ingredients

Spicy Sweet Potato Chicken Stirfry

  • 2 T + more olive oil divided
  • 1 Red Pepper, thinly sliced
  • 1/4 large sweet onion, thinly sliced
  • 1 sweet potato, thinly sliced into 1/4 half moons
  • 2 garlic cloves, thinly sliced
  • 4 cooked frozen skinless chicken tenders, cooked and sliced
  • 1 can black olives, drained and sliced
  • 1 can garbanzo beans, drained and rinsed
  • 1 T oregano
  • 1/2 t Himalayan Salt
  • 1/8 t ground Habanero pepper
  • 1 t ground coriander
  • 2 t ground cumin
  • 1/2 cup water
  1. Heat saute pan, add 1 T olive oil.
  2. Add peppers and onions. Saute about 3 minutes.
  3. Add sweet potatoes, chicken, garbanzo beans, and olives.
  4. Add seasonings and water. Cover and saute until potatoes are fork tender. About 5 minutes.
  5. Turn off the burner and add sliced garlic and 1 more Tablespoon olive oil.
  6. Enjoy

Serves 4

Spicy Chicken

Nutritional Info

  • Calories: 303
  • Fat: 15 grams
  • Carbs: 16.3 grams
  • Fiber: 2.8 grams
  • Protein: 26.7 grams

 

 

Leave a Reply

