The Negativity Box

Yesterday I found myself writhing in pain again, something that is still very new to me only since the middle of May. This pain came on suddenly and is said to have been lingering in me all my life only with this last trauma and all the stress I have been under with my job did it think I was calling it out. I think it must have me confused with someone else. I don’t want this pain, I don’t want it to move from one joint to another and jumping around my body. It feels like I am at war with my body and some days I am not winning. It’s those days that I have found the use of a Negativity Box most helpful.

Negativity Box

What’s a negativity box? 

It’s an imaginary box in my mind that works to help me clear the negative thoughts from my life and replace them with Godly thoughts and scriptures. Whenever I have a negative thought or the pain is too much to bear I picture myself taking the words of the thought and putting them in a box. Then I think about a happy, Godly thought. Like today, for instance, I was feeling a lot of pain this morning in the joints of my toes, only in the bottom this time. I didn’t feel like getting out of bed, nor did I feel like working out. The thought that kept running through my head was “My body hurts, you read that article that said if you workout your body will hurt more.” So I sat on the edge of my bed, pictured myself taking the words and pushing them into the box never to be said again, nor heard from again. My very next thought was Phillippians 4:8 “…whatever things are true, whatever things are noble, whatever things are just, whatever things are pure, whatever things are lovely, whatever things are of good report, if there is any virtue and if there is anything praiseworthy–meditate on these things.” Which then sent my mind to think Phillippians 4:13 “I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me.”

I got myself out of bed, put my workout clothes on and proceeded to do my exercise routine of gentle stretching, crunches and  light  weight lifting. Did I feel pain afterwards? Yes, the same kind I woke up with. Was it worse? No. But I felt more alive than if I would have just lied in bed feeling sorry for myself and believing the negative thoughts in my head.

Pain Makes A Way

It’s almost been a month since this wide-spread pain started and I can honestly say that it’s more of a blessing than a cursing. I find myself taking better care of myself now. I am also seeing that I make honest decisions about what I can and cannot do. This is huge for me. If I need my husband’s help with something, I ask instead of beat around the bush. If I can’t do an entire research job in one day, I don’t and I don’t stress about it either. The pain is also making me think about God more. I lean on God and read His Words more than once or twice a day now.

It’s interesting the ways God tries to get our attention until we continue to ignore until we can’t ignore the pink elephant in the room anymore.

Getting rid of the negative is the only way I/we can let the words of God permeate our minds. We can’t just keep reading, and reading about all the negative evil things going on in the world and not counteract them with the words of God. We need to replace negative and painful thoughts with the healing words of God. He is our ultimate healer.

My Sabbath Thought for the Day!

Leave a Reply

