What I Need, When I Needed it

Have you ever noticed that things come into your life at exactly the right moment, not five minutes later or a day ahead, but at the precise moment that you need and are ready to accept what is being given? I’ve been working on a lot of different projects since my last blog post in January. I’ve pushed writing aside several times to focus on my full-time job. But now every turn in the road seems to bring me back to writing, not to help others (though I’m glad my writing can fill that need), but for my own sanity. I am really thinking God gave me this talent of writing so I can figure things out in my own head and have a hard copy of my thoughts. When I write for the sake of collecting my thoughts in one spot, I can read them and think “Do I keep them or should I toss them aside?”

As with other parts of my life writing is a constant companion. I am constantly writing in my job, but it’s more sales letters and emails, nothing that has anything profound about living, wellness, or change. Frankly, when I work all day on a computer I don’t want to spend the rest of my day working on a computer.

So what makes now so different. Last week I watched a Brendon Burchard video on “How Not to Set Goals“. This video stressed the importance of D.U.M.B. goals. This one video changed my focus since I watched it. Why this? Why now?

Well, I was looking for something motivating to watch as I was going through a tough time at work. My boss is very left-brained. She lives in her spreadsheets. Now that’s not a bad thing but when you try to control a right-brained person with left-brained tools the right-brained person feels like a fish out of water and balks at every turn. I am that right-brained person. I think outside the box, whereas my boss is the left-brained person and needs to put everyone inside the box or she feels a loss of control. Needless to say, it’s a bit stressful for me sometimes. So when I stumbled upon this idea of setting D.U.M.B. goals it made sense to me and helped me in understanding why I never made the S.M.A.R.T. ones in the first place.

What’s a D.U.M.B. goal?

D: Dream Driven (Thinking way outside the box) Something that fires you up. Something you contribute to the world. Asking yourself at the end of your life “What things would make your life meaningful?”

U: Uplifting: Our words matter. Gaining something rather than losing something. I want to lose weight today is not uplifting. Make the goal attractive, compelling and important to you. Turn I want to lose weight today into I am going to feel so fit, vibrant and beautiful to the world that it exudes out of my skin.

M: Method Friendly: What practices can you surround this goal that make it achievable? Can you make a map around it, what processes can you bring to this goal that makes attaining it achievable easier. These practices, processes, or map helps us to live in the goal consistently. Some examples of a method would be to go to a Pilates class three times a week, three times a week you’ll do some sort of High-Intensity Training.  Same thing when it comes to eating. Add a new method to your plan: Drink some Rocket Coffee every morning, have a protein shake for lunch every day. Make these methods something you can repeat over and over and over (consistency).

B: Behavior driven: Triggers set up to make you do this. Examples: I am going to think these five things right before I go to the grocery store, I am going to only shop the outside aisles of the grocery store, Every time I waiting in line ask yourself “What am I focusing on and How do I feel?” If you want to be vibrant you have to feel vibrant.

I’ve been using this pattern all week long and I’ve been able to gain vibrancy and peace of mind. Creating my D.U.M.B. goals this week for work had me thinking not so much on what I wanted to accomplish for the week, like a task list, but more on the big picture of where I want my life to be. My work goals became D.U.M.B. goals too. Did I accomplish them yes, and it was so much easier than writing in a spreadsheet all the things I did for the day.

Want to make your life less stress filled? Make some D.U.M.B. goals. If you’re right brained like me, it’s the smart way to go.

Has nothing to do with this post, but I love this photo of myself and my new friend Leo.

Has nothing to do with this post, but I love this photo of myself and my new friend Leo.

One thought on “What I Need, When I Needed it

Leave a Reply

