WELLNESS FOR A NEW DAY

Since today is the first day of 2015, I thought it would be apropos to begin the year with a different plan for this blogsite. Last year was all helter-skelter, writing what came to me and dealing with a lot of issues. Throw in a full time job that has nothing to do with my focus in life but has me overstretching my comfort boundaries every day. It’s a good thing. This year will be different as each week I will be writing one to two blog posts. The first post will be about an aspect of wellness, alternative health therapy, or simple wellness exercises that I have done in the past, do now or will do in the future. The second post will be either writing about what I’m currently experiencing while doing the exercises, therapies, and going through the thought process of the previous post.

Wellness For A New Day

With that said, let’s begin this new day in this new year with a short talk about going against the grain of society, and not eating breakfast. Breakfast is not the most important meal of the day, dinner at midday is the most important meal. So much of what we do is based on the tradition of men and the evolvement of a society. Meals have evolved from one meal a day to six small meals a day. If you do a quick study into where the word “dinner” comes from, you’ll be as amazed as I was to learn that dinner originally meant break the fast and was eaten at midday. Dinner was the biggest meal of the day and it still is today, only there are two other meals eaten prior to it.

I’ve never been a big breakfast eater, usually a banana, a protein shake, or a cup of coffee. I’m just not hungry then. Skipping breakfast is not the end of the world, not even for children. I used to plead with one of my sons to get him to eat breakfast, because I thought he would starve to death if he missed it. When I stopped pleading with him and realized that he’ll eat when he’s hungry, life became less stressful. When we force ourselves and our children to eat when we’re not hungry we teach them to ignore their body signals. Hunger pangs (aka growling stomachs) are the bodies’ signals which tells us it’s time to refuel.

Lunch is the New Breakfast

Yes our first meal is the most important meal of the day, but it shouldn’t be at six in the morning. Do this experiment for one week, don’t eat breakfast first thing in the morning. Instead, start your day with a cup of hot water with the juice of one lemon, don’t eat anything else. Track how long it takes you to get a growling stomach. For me that’s around 11:30 in the morning which is good because I take my normal “lunch” break then.

Will you feel side effects? Probably. Lighted headed? Probably. Trouble focusing? Probably not. Will it be difficult at first? Maybe. Is it worth it? Yes. Not only will you save money but you’ll also save calories, and you’ll save your health. Two meals a day: Dinner at Midday and Supper at six.

Wishing you Wellness for A New Day!

Breakfast, Lunch, and Dinner

The Most Important Meal of the Day

Obese to Slender

2 thoughts on “WELLNESS FOR A NEW DAY

Leave a Reply

