STREAMLINING WITH A PURPOSE

Every year we do a deep clean of our living environment to get rid of the leaven that represents sin in our life. It’s called deleavening. We move the refrigerator, the stove, go through our closet and empty the crumbs from pockets and purses. We deleaven our entire surroundings, (throwing out everything that has leavening: yeast, baking powder and baking soda) to get ourselves ready to celebrate the Days of Unleavened Bread that is told to us in Exodus 12:20; 23:15; 34:18; 13:6; 29:2, 23; Leviticus 23:6; Numbers 28:17; Joshua 5:11 and in other places throughout the bible.

I’ve been cleaning for days of unleavened bread since I was 9, I’m now 51. Through the years I’ve used this time to streamline my home as well as deleaven. Putting away sin from my life is an important part of me, as is getting rid of the clutter that creeps into my workflow. The less time I have to spend uncluttering my living space the more time I can spend on creative projects, with my family and friends, and working without having the dread of coming home to a cluttered house.

This year I’m streamlining with a purpose. I have a full time job now that I love it because I get to help people accomplish their dreams and goals. Anyways, back to streamlining. In my office I have a desk that is 6 feet long and 3 feet wide. I only use the front half of the desk because I can’t reach the other half. The adjacent wall holds my husband’s conference table made into a desk. In the corner where our two “desks” meet is empty space that is becoming a cluttered mess of wires and unused computer parts. It must all must go. I’m tired of unused spaces going to waste.

streamlined office

So last week we went to Ikea, found nothing I liked, except the different legs. Then I saw on a Pinterest post how someone made a corner desk with extensions from old doors and short filing cabinets. I liked it but my husband didn’t. We’re still toying around with different ideas. This I know for sure, the desk I’m working on now will be leaving us around May, hopefully sooner. If any of my readers have suggestions on what they use please let me know. I am not looking for full desks with drawers, I want something contemporary and eclectic. My goal is to have both our work spaces in the corners and connected with a long table or something. I want to get rid of a tall filling cabinet and replace with two smaller cabinets. which could fit in the closet.

That’s my streamlining with a purpose goal for this year.

 

 

Leave a Reply

