MANY ROADS TO WELLNESS: I Took the One Less Traveled By

While I was walking out of the doctor’s office, Robert Frost’s poem “The Road Not Taken” kept running through my mind’s eye. When it comes to my own wellness, I have always taken the road less traveled by. I have always gone the alternative route to keep myself well, and as I walked out of the urgent care facility, where my husband had insisted I go because I couldn’t catch my breath, I felt like I had been scolded by the doctor who barely spent five minutes with me.

I got the diagnosis of bronchitis, the doctor wrote 2 prescriptions, told me that fruit flavored Life Savers are the best cough drops, and that health food store remedies aren’t worth anything because they can’t do what prescription medicine can. Then he began to insinuate that because I didn’t get a flu shot is why I’m sick now. He asked me why I didn’t come in at the first sight of a sore throat, I told him “I don’t normally run to the doctor for every little symptom in life,” that’s when he turned his back and worked on his computer. He wrote me two prescriptions, one for antibiotics and another for cough suppressant.

My Road to Wellness

I filled the one for the cough suppressant but only took it for a day because I needed to get some sleep, and I was coughing my throat raw. For the antibiotic, I’ve used grapefruit seed extract, oil of oregano, whole garlic, and the Himalayan Sole Therapy (which I wrote about just two weeks ago.) I spent $122 on an office visit for the doctor to insult my lifestyle, and for writing prescriptions. According to my husband I need to stop being pigheaded and stubborn when it comes to my health in seeing a doctor, but I think I just need to keep doing what I have been doing and even go back to making my own herbal remedies for times like these. Although it was nice to see my blood pressure had gone down to 133/82 not bad for someone who was panicking because she couldn’t breathe.

In the past I’ve made my own tinctures of lobelia,  burdock, chamomile, echinacea, peppermint, lavender, and dandelion just to name a few. I’ve used my own cough remedies (Onion and Honey Juice), my own sore throat remedies (Cayenne Ginger Gargle) to help my children heal from illnesses like strep throat and dry coughs. I’m thinking about all the herbs, apple cider vinegar, and rum I could have bought with that $122.

Yes I took the road less traveled by but this is my road to wellness. It’s paved with homemade tinctures and remedies, poultices, and herbal baths. It’s filled with hope, love, peace, joy, and research. If your road to wellness is the one less traveled by, then please leave a comment.

 

http://www.motherearthliving.com/health-and-wellness/homemade-medicine.aspx?PageId=3#ArticleContent

http://wellnessmama.com/8168/how-to-make-herbal-tinctures/

Leave a Reply

