HAVE YOU EATEN YOUR MEDICINE TODAY?

Throughout my studies into nutrition and healthy eating, I’ve learned that most of what we put into our mouths is now considered medicine. It’s becoming clear that more and more people are eating and drinking things that we would have considered a voodoo remedy by our ancestors. We’re not looking at food anymore to nourish our bodies. We’re looking at the chemical make up of the food and frankly that doesn’t entice too many people. When we look down at our plate of food and think, “Oh, I’m helping my digestive tract!” or “Wow, I’m washing the inflammation away!” We take away our enjoyment of food. I can’t think of a time when I asked my sons, “Have you eaten your medicine today?” No I asked them if they enjoyed their lunch or their dinner.

Yes, it’s good that we eat healthy and not eat processed, over-salted, over-sugared, and GMO foods. Yes we should make sure we are eating our food as close as possible to it’s natural state. But I think we’re missing the mark when we look at food just for their nutrient level. I really don’t care how many nutrients are in split peas. I hate their taste, and their texture. The same is true of kale. I can’t stand the taste of kale, so I have to doctor it up or hide it in other foods. Why do I eat kale? Because of it’s calcium content. But I really don’t like anything I make with it, even though everyone raves about my Kale Butter, and Kale chips. Now I’m not telling you all this so you’ll send me kale recipes I’m just proving a point.

Enjoy Your Food

We need to go back to looking at our food as food, not as medicine even though it is. We were much healthier when we sat down at the dinner table and ate a piece of chicken, with veggies from the garden, a salad, and some fruit instead of :

  • Amino Acids
  • Protein
  • Anti-inflammatory
  • Immune Booster
  • Muscle Renewer
  • Antioxidants
  • Detoxifiers
  • Metabolism booster
  • Cancer Treatment
  • Heartburn Reliever
  • Colon Cleanser

Food is to be enjoyed!

Leave a Reply

