BETWEEN KNOWLEDGE AND WISDOM

Such a big gap lies between knowledge and wisdom. People often mistake that gap for nothing, but it is truly filled with something unique. How many times have we heard the expression “He/She is book smart”? Or “Knowledge is power”? Or my favorite “Little knowledge is a dangerous thing.”? These are often said of people who are knowledgeable but something is missing, that missing point is application.

You can have all the knowledge in the world and still not be powerful. What good is being book smart if you don’t apply what you know? A little knowledge that is kept under wraps does no one a bit of good. So how do we get from knowledge to wisdom. We apply the knowledge we have to every situation or circumstance we find ourselves in.

This is what it would look like. I’m using myself as an example, since I understand the knowledge I have.

I have extensive knowledge about alternative therapies for wellness. When I get sick, (I haven’t been sick for quite some time) I ask myself what I did that led me here. I don’t run to the doctor for every sniffle or cough. I look at what I did or didn’t do that led to me being sick. Lately, I’ve been waking up with a stuffy nose. There is no need for me to run for a decongestant when I know what’s causing it. A couple of days ago I had cheese, and from my own knowledge about my allergy to dairy this is what happens to me. So I lay off the cheese, and drink more water and fenugreek tea (gets rid of mucus). No more stuffy nose. This is called applying what I know.

Between Knowledge & Wisdom

How about something bigger. We all know that doing a good job while at work is rewarded. For me that reward comes with more clients, and word spreads. Say I do a good job for two clients and they each tell four of their friends, and these eight friends become new new clients. By me applying my knowledge to help two clients just got me eight new clients.

Knowledge in and of itself is not powerful. Application is powerful. Application can change your world if you just apply what you know in the best possible way. Our repetitious use of our knowledge in all of life’s experiences is what leads to wisdom. But wisdom is an interesting thing, because just when you think you have it, is when it slips away. Instead of searching for knowledge which will only take you so far; search instead for ways of application.

Leave a Reply

