ITALIAN GIRL SAYS GOODBYE TO PASTA & LOSES 15 POUNDS

Two and a half weeks ago, I decided to do something drastic for the health of my husband and for myself. I decided to go Paleo and totally grain-free. If you’re a frequent reader of this blog then you already know that my husband has been gluten intolerant for more than two years. But I learned something interesting about myself almost 3 weeks ago. I have a gluten allergy and while I don’t have Celiac’s Disease, this allergy causes some pretty disturbing issues for me. So this Italian girl said goodbye to pasta and lost 15 pounds in 18 days.

I know what you’re thinking…It’s simply not possible to lose that much weight in that short of time. If’ I didn’t see the scale numbers for myself I wouldn’t believe it either. The clincher came when my jeans became so big it was difficult to hold them up. So I tried on my skinny jeans, and they were loose on me too.  Eating grain free is so easy for both me and my husband. I thought I would miss the pastas but I really don’t probably because I haven’t had regular pasta in over three years.

My scale is my friend.

People are constantly asking me what exactly do I eat and what kind of crazy exercise routine am I doing. So here goes this is what I’ve been eating:

Breakfast: 1organic egg cooked any way I want, with some Himalayan Salt and 1 small organic banana, 1 cup of Earl Grey Tea with 2 stevia drops, and 32 ounces of water.

I don’t eat for four hours between breakfast and lunch.

Lunch: I have a 20 ounce cup of tea with stevia and a salad with either tuna, or whatever protein we had from the night before.

Snack: a handful of soaked almonds or a homemade “Laura Bar” (My own versions that have no added fat except the nuts).

Dinner: I’ve been making burgers and all kinds of different ethnic stir fries (husband can live on stir fries with no soy because he’s allergic to that too) , another salad and for dessert a serving of frozen fruit puree. My favorite so far has been Pineapple Vanilla Sorbet. It’s super easy to make.

I’ve also instituted no eating after 7 pm.

This is my basic diet, I haven’t strayed from it at all. I drink 96 ounces of water a day.  The most interesting this is that I’m not hungry all the time. I do give myself one cheat meal once a week, but for me that’s usually a piece of chocolate.

I’ve been walking and using my old Shwinn Airdyne exercise bike that a friend gave me to use. And that’s it. I will start my weight training routine Next Monday.

This way of eating has really cause me to take a second look at how I feel because before, while I had a lot of energy, I was still having inflammation issues. Now that I’m totally grain free, those inflammation issues are not such a problem anymore. Another plus at eating this way is meal prep takes only about 30 minutes, and some of the stir-fries I’ve made in less than 15 minutes from start to finish.

My husband’s results to this eating plan are totally different than mine, he hasn’t lost as much weight but he hasn’t taken any digestive enzymes (which he was popping like candy) since starting this plan. Plus he hasn’t had a problem with his lipomas (fatty tumors)  or the pain in his side caused by his IBS of which he has not had a problem with this whole time and he’s been under a great deal of stress.

This Italian girl is staying on this plan until she reaches her goal weight of 145 pounds. I thought I could do it before December but if the weight keeps falling off of me at this rate, I’ll be at my goal weight much quicker.

Pastas will come and go; people will forever be posting photos of delectable foods everywhere we look, but we don’t have to succumb to these and give up our dreams and goals for a moment of tongue bliss. It doesn’t matter what ethnic heritage you are, you can lose weight and stick to a program especially if you’re seeing results. This program is easy, it’s simple too. I find the simpler the plan the easier to stick to it. Many people out there are trying to find ways to come up with recipes that mimic the regular version, that’s so time consuming and nothing we try will ever taste like the old version. So just make peace with yourself and resolve to change your tastes.

This Italian girl said goodbye to pasta and lost 15 pounds.

If I can do it, so can you.

Leave a Reply

