GOOD ENOUGH!

Two years ago I worked for an online bead company, where I filled bead orders for 10 hours a day. The production floor was divided into stations according to the type of bead or jewelry finding such as bicones, pearls, toggles, flat-backs, etc. Each of the stations had an average number of clicks (the way the company kept track of our production) that needed to be met daily by the filler that was assigned to said station. If the filler made the average he or she was awarded a slip of paper stating he or she was “Filler of the Day.” These slips of paper could be exchanged for candy and small prizes. Each day as we were winding down on the 10 hours of work, my coworkers were always comparing if they made the average. Once the average is met, workers would slow down to a snail’s pace, not wanting to do any more than just the average. Good enough was they’re motto. Those coworkers who did go above and beyond the average were told to slow down and pace yourself, “You won’t make filler of the day, that way!”

excellence

            As I look back, each day I saw firsthand that average became the new excellence I should strive for. Gone are the words from Ecclesiastes 9:10 “Whatever your hand finds to do, do it with all your might; for there is no work, nor plan, nor knowledge, nor wisdom, in the grave where you go” (Modern King James Version). Striving for excellence is now taken over by “It’s good enough.”  God’s way is not the average way of doing something that is good enough. Every task that is performed should be done to the best of our ability; whether we are digging a ditch, writing a paper for school or putting words together for a blog. If we do something that is just good enough we are not following the words of this scripture. Many times I find myself saying these words “It’s good enough.” Then I ask myself “Who is it good enough for?”

            Weeding out these words from my daily life is a difficult task. I am constantly watching my speech, my attitude and my conduct, asking myself the same question “Am I doing this task at hand with all my strength?”  Average and good enough does not set the right example of living the life God intended for me to live. Each day when I sit down to do my work I don’t strive for average, I strive for excellence. I strive to live by the words of Ecclesiastes 9:10. I do not want to be rewarded for doing an average job; I would rather be a living example of God’s excellence.

One thought on “GOOD ENOUGH!

Leave a Reply

