LIFE, HEALTH, & MONEY

So you think you have it all figured out. You know what you want in your life, you know where you want your health and wellness to be, and you know just how much money it will take to get the other two. But you don’t have that money right now, your health is not on track and you don’t have the life you want. What do you do now? The answer is both simple and challenging.

348_Business_Plan_Cartoon

A building isn’t constructed without an architect making plans for how it will look, a landscaper doesn’t just come to your home and start digging holes without a sketch. People don’t just decide one day to have a business and next day open the doors and start doing business without having a plan first. Think about all the plans in life: diet plans, fitness plans, educational plans, spending plans, etc. So why do we think we can go through life without a plan in place and think we will accomplish anything worthwhile?

Why am I talking about plans anyways? Because I’ve needed to write three business plans, one for each part time business that I run. Together these businesses bring in some money but not nearly at what I want to see them bring in. After I sat down to write up my three business plans, I thought about writing up a life plan and fill it with everything that I wanted in my life.

This included dates of when I should have different tasks accomplished as well as how I was going to do them. Since I don’t have the money right now to accomplish many of the tasks I want right now, I put deadlines on myself so I can have a target date to work towards. It also includes who can help me attain the goals I have set for myself.

Putting all of this in writing has helped me to focus on what I really want out of life and for my own life to feel successful. Each of us have different terms of success so my life plan will look totally different than your’s. It includes the wants and desires I have for my own life. If you’ve ever been in an interview where the interviewer asks you, “Where do you see yourself in five years?” and you don’t have a clue at what to say. A life plan is the answer.

Five years from this very day what will your life be like? Where will you be in your health and wellness plan? How will your money situation be? What experiences will you have accomplished? Will you be stuck in a rut or energized by your accomplishments? Will you still be at your same job or will you be self-sufficient? Will you have the capability to see your family and friends more often? Will you be doing what you love to do?

Five years from this very day what will your life be like?

Leave a Reply

