YOU NEVER KNOW

Yesterday was a very busy day for me. Each hour of my day was accounted for with phone calls, tutoring sessions and seminar demonstrations. It is days like that where something always seems to make an appearance to help me remember why I do what I do. Yesterday while in the grocery store, you never know when something like this is going to happen, but you are thankful that you were in the right place at the right time.

After my tutoring sessions I stopped off at two stores both on my schedule and on my way home. I was in Rite Aid and noticed an older woman wandering the the aisles like she was lost. So I asked her if I could help her find something. She didn’t respond, she just looked at me like she was looking through me. I asked her again and she said, “I can’t remember why I came into this store.” I told her that I do that sometimes and need to walk back to my car to help me remember.”  She walked to the entrance of the store and waited outside for a bit. I noticed her again as I began to walk to the grocery store next door. You know that feeling you get when someone is following you.

Sure enough she followed me into the grocery store, and into the produce area. While I was looking at the organic bananas, she was just standing in the middle of the area glaring at me. Then I asked her if everything was alright. She didn’t say anything. She just kept staring at me. I asked again if there was anything I could help her with and she said, “I don’t know you, where am I?” At that point in time I asked her what her name was. She knew her name “Connie”(for protection reasons, I’m not using her real name). While I was asking her some basic questions: her phone number, her address, a person I could call;  the store manager had been alerted. Connie had her purse with her and her car keys were in her hand. I asked her to take out her wallet so I could check her information.

Finding Way Home

Since I was able to help Connie remain in a calm state, the store manager called Connie’s daughter and an ambulance. The daughter arrived first, and said this is the second time this has happened to Connie. Yes, Connie drove herself to the store yesterday; apparently she drives every day. I don’t think Connie will be driving anymore. I know it’s sad but for her protection and the protection of every other person on the road it is the best thing to do.

As I was going through the store, I started to realize that I know how to do CPR and First Aid but what did I know about how to help people who are disoriented, like Connie? I started to question what I did. Did I ask the right questions? Did I do the right things?

According to 2012 Alzheimer’s Disease Facts and Figures  Alzheimer’s Disease affects one in eight older Americans. Also noting that four to five million people in the United States, alone, have some degree of dementia. I think it’s time that we are all educated on how to respond to emergency situations like Connie’s.

dementia2

We’re all living longer which means we need to do what ever is necessary to stave off Alzheimer’s Disease and Dementia. We need to eat healthy, get regular exercise, reduce our stress and make certain that we are giving our bodies the essential nutrients so our bodies can do what they are supposed to do. For more information on a product that can help your body do what it’s designed to do, click here, because you never know. 

http://www.alz.org/downloads/facts_figures_2012.pdf

http://www.emedicinehealth.com/dementia_overview/article_em.htm

Leave a Reply

