GETTING READY

Ever have that moment when you are getting ready to go out that you just don’t like anything of what you’re wearing, and you feel this overwhelming desire to change not just your clothes but everything about yourself? I had this feeling over the weekend. I got dressed for church on Saturday and just didn’t like how I looked, so I changed my clothes, fixed my hair a different way and then started fresh with my makeup.

Getting Ready

In the process of getting ready I realized some profound things about myself that I thought maybe others also think about. One of those questions I had for myself was, “Do I look at the outward appearance of myself and of others too closely, instead of looking at people’s hearts and my own heart”? While I should take an interest in my own appearance; making sure that I am healthy, clean, and look appropriate; I shouldn’t be so consumed in my appearance that I draw attention to myself. It’s my heart that people see when they look at me. If my heart is in the right place then people will see that on my face and my appearance.

The other half of that question, “Do I look at the appearance of others too closely instead of their hearts?” It’s all about judging each other. Do we ever make the comment “Don’t those people look in the mirror?” or “Does she not know what she looks like?” or “If I was I her I wouldn’t be seen dead in that outfit!” These are judgments about what a person looks like. It’s what is in our hearts that matters most. People have mirrors and many only look at themselves from the neck up. I sometimes do because I don’t like what I see from the neck down, and many people don’t either.

Another thing I’ve learned about getting ready is that I spend too much time trying to be perfect in my own reflection of the mirror instead of the mirror of the Bible and God. How many times do we look in the mirror and see our own reflection on a daily basis? Then how many times do we search God’s word and see His reflection through us? To see His reflection through us we need to be filling our minds with His Word, ¬†repenting, and turning from the evils of this world.

I also learned that I will spend hours getting ready, just to get a compliment from my husband. But he thinks and tells me that I’m pretty even on my worst sweats-wearing days. Maybe I should spend more time getting ready for the ultimate reward “Well done, good and faithful servant! You have been faithful over a few things; I will make you a ruler over many things. Enter into the joy of your lord.” (Matthew 25:21).

Each of life’s seasons teaches us many lessons and when applied to our lives, those lessons are the stepping stones to something magnificent that’s waiting for us.

 

Leave a Reply

