CAPE LOOKOUT

I just love exploring with my husband. When we first moved to the Pacific Northwest five years ago we used to go out every weekend and explore our new home state. This past weekend we traveled down the Oregon Coast and went camping at Cape Lookout. It was the most relaxing camping experience we’d ever taken.

Saturday Morning Stroll

Saturday Morning Stroll

On Saturday we walked along the water’s edge for seven miles. We talked about our dreams, about ourmissed opportunities and about moving forward. It was the moments we didn’t talk but just walked, hugged, and kissed that I will remember the most about this beautiful trip.

Tree

Tree

I love driftwood and even bringing home some as souvenirs but my husband said no to this one, so I took its photo instead!

And of course my broken toe.

Broken Toe

Broken Toe

Yes, after our lovely 3 hour stroll down the beach, I was walking up the rocky and sandy area to get back to our tent barefoot; I hit an immovable rock with my left baby toe. I knew it was broken the moment it happened, but I didn’t let it stop me or ruin the trip. When I got back to our tent I spray it with ASEA, only because I it was bleeding and I know that ASEA has antibacterial properties that would help it heal. Then throughout the day, I just kept spraying it. I sprayed it at least 8 more times before going to bed and took two extra doses on Saturday night. I slept the entire night with no pain.

Flowers on Trail

Flowers on Trail

The next day just because I couldn’t get my foot into my hiking shoes didn’t mean I wasn’t going hiking up to see the 380 ft water fall. So I hiked it in my flip flops, holding onto my husband for support and walking sideways when I needed to.

More Flowers on Trail

More Flowers on Trail

The waterfall was beautiful but we could only get as close as the trail would allow, because of fallen trees, the trail was closed. But that didn’t stop my husband from going off trail. I on the other hand, got a nice view from where I was. It was beautiful.

Waterfall

Waterfall

Can’t wait to go back to Cape Lookout next year; we have decided to make this one of our yearly camping trip. Camping season has just begun for us. I am eagerly looking forward to see what other places we’ll be exploring this coming season and even next Sunday, since it’s Mother’s Day and it’s my choice.

 

Leave a Reply

