YEARNING FOR OUR OWN WELLNESS

We’ve spent the entire month going through the alphabet in April’s Action Steps to Wellness. I can’t believe we only have today and tomorrow left. In going through my own steps, I’m reminded how each of us need to be yearning for our own wellness.

It’s easy to tell other people what they need to do to become and remain healthy but when it comes to ourselves we just do the bare minimum and expect our wellness to soar. When you tell people you don’t feel well they are always ready with an old wives remedy or whatever they do to counteract whatever symptoms you have.

Steps

Webster’s dictionary says that we should be longing persistently or yearning; we should have compassion or yearning for ourselves. It’s easier to have compassion for other people but do you have the same compassion for yourself that you yearn to make your healthy and strong? Do you persistently long after wellness and make your own wellness steps part of your life? If we’re not yearning for our own wellness than what are we doing just playing or dabbling in the wellness pool? You consider yourself a swimmer if you’re sitting on the side of the pool and only stick your legs in. What is it exactly that we’re doing?

Sometimes I think we look at health and wellness as an afterthought. A busy mom or student might say, “When I have more time, I’ll get around to it.” “It’s something I’ll take more seriously when I’m older.” “I don’t need to think about health and wellness I’m only a teenager, or in my 20’s, 30’s, 40’s;” put your own age time limit on it. “I’m not sick yet!” These are some of the statements I’ve heard in the last couple of years.

Don’t wait for illness to catch you in it’s grips, you may not have enough time to get out. If we all start yearning now for our own wellness, we’ll be able to stave off illness, slow down the aging process, and lose weight. Waiting only makes it more difficult. Long persistently for your own wellness. Be compassionate for your own health. Yearn for your own wellness!

Leave a Reply

