SERVING

I’ve said it many times, my business’ success is dependent on how well I serve my clients and customers. If I do a good job then I not only make a sale but I make a friend, and it is our friends who we serve the most. How many people do we serve in a day? A week? A month? Whether you think about it or not, we pay for good service more than anything else. The waitstaff who bends over backwards to make our dining experience the best and accommodates our health situations by finding out what is in the food will always get a better tip from me. Serving our brothers and sisters is another of April’s Action Steps to Wellness because it helps us to take a break from our own lives and puts the needs of others first.

Serving other people is not a platform to look for reward or fame, it shouldn’t be like our celebrities who are always serving organizations to get free publicity. Serving should come from our hearts and focus on the person we are serving not on how we look. It’s a blessing in my life to know that what I do makes an impact on the lives of the people I serve and that is reward enough for me.

When I serve it is a direct extension of who I am. I take myself out of the picture when I’m serving and it helps me focus on other people’s issues. It also helps me to see other people’s strengths and look for ways to implement them in my own life.

Serving

Here are some ways you can get involved and serve the people in your community, your church, and your family.

  • Volunteer at the local boys and girls club. Be a mentor to children who need a positive role model in their lives. 
  • Help out at the local food bank or food pantry. Anybody can write a check or donate food, but it takes a special person to physically help people in need.
  • Volunteer at a senior center to play cards, do crafts or just plain talk to the senior citizens or Silver Ambassadors. 
  • Sign up to read to children in your local school district or at a children’s hospital.
  • Make a plan to pray for each of your friends in real time and on social media, like Facebook, LinkedIn, and Google+. Leave a short message on their page to let them know you’re thinking about them.
  • Send cards out to the people you know who are having a rough patch in life. Let’s face it we all fall into that patch from time-to-time and a card carries so much thought.
  • Call your family regularly and ask them if there is anything that you could do for them or find out what’s going on in their lives that could use some prayers.

These ideas just scratch the surface of ways you can serve people.

A serving attitude comes from a loving heart.

Do you have that heart?

 

Leave a Reply

