MAKE A DIFFERENCE

How often have we been told in order to change our own life and our own outlook on life we need to make a difference in someone else’s life. I think we need to make a difference in our own lives first. Lately I’ve been thinking about how it is easier for me to make a difference in other people’s lives than it is for me to make a difference in my own life. How many of you experience this same thing? When we make a difference in our own life, our life becomes what we want it to be, and we are better able to make a difference in other people’s lives.

Make a difference

In order for me to make a difference in my own life I needed to change my mindset about what makes me happy, how I need to really be sick and tired of how my life is, how I need to be totally uncomfortable about sitting on the edge of my life instead of participating in my life. These are just some of the things I’ve been thinking about lately, and how I need to make a difference in my own life.

Ways that have been helping me make a difference in my own life.

  • I made a date with myself everyday to read or listen to an inspirational message. I have many favorites but here are two of my favorites: I read my bible every day, and I listen to Chip Ingram at least twice a week (http://livingontheedge.org/broadcasts)
  • Sometimes when I’m reading or listening to these messages I sit on my exercise cycle or go for a walk. I’ve noticed for myself that when my body is moving I absorb the information better than if I just sit and read or listen. 
  • Make it a point to do something encouraging in your own life. Put up inspirational quotations around your home. I tape some to my bathroom mirror, my refrigerator, the mirror in my kitchen (yes I have a mirror next to my refrigerator) If you don’t want to tape paper up around your house, put them into frames like this one: 
One of my favorite quotes

One of my favorite quotes

  • To make a difference in my own life I needed to surround myself with people who are encouraging, supportive, loving, kind. Not all the people in our lives are here to encourage us; some are here to teach us how not to be. There will always be people in our lives who are ready whip us around with their tongues, but we don’t have to listen to them or be around them. You’ll make a difference in your life if you distance yourself from these kinds of people. 
  • What we think about we bring about. So to make a difference in my own life. I changed how I think. I don’t use swear words. I think about the good things in life and even though I am still going through some difficult things, like many people are, I am not dwelling the negative of what’s going on, but I’m looking at the good in all this. And in looking for the good, I’ve opened myself up for the best possibilities that life can offer.
  • Think about what and how you eat. If you’re trying to make a difference in your life to be more positive, by more inspiring, then you have to eat better food. Clean, organic food is the only way to supply your brain and body with the nutrients they need to accomplish our daily challenges. Plus it helps us to think better, and when we think better we’re capable of making better choices.

 Touching lives is what life is all about.

Making a difference is choice that first starts with you!

Leave a Reply

