TIP #19: MONEY SUCKERS

Recently I had a conversation with a very wealthy friend of mine who made the comment, “A person with money problems shouldn’t be spending money on muffins, bags of chips, or going out to restaurants.” His comment has stayed with me for quite some time and I’ve been questioning all the purchases I’ve made in the last three weeks. Saving receipts on everything I bought. I found out that I’ve also been throwing my hard earned money to the money suckers without thinking about it. We all have our own money suckers they are unique to our lives but one thing is certain they will continue to suck money out of our pockets until we stop the behavior and say “NO MORE!”

Money Suckers

 I stopped  buying a cup of coffee at my local coffee house. I love their coffee but realized that a pound of their coffee ($14) was cheaper than a three visits to their coffee house. Because I don’t just order their coffee; I have to get a treat too.  So I still have my favorite coffee but only pay a fraction for it. Plus, I’m saving calories when don’t go into the coffee house.

Another area that stopped the money suckers in their tracks has been any convenient purchases. It used to be that I would run to the gourmet grocery store every time I got a craving for something sweet, salty, or didn’t feel like making dinner.   It’s difficult for me because this store within two blocks from my house and I love all their healthy but expensive treats. So now I just keep things on hand to make my own treats. If I feel the need for chocolate: I make a chocolate protein shake. If I want something salty: I cut up a cucumber and sprinkle salt on it. Both are much cheaper because I already have them in the house, and both are a whole lot healthier for me.

Then I got to wondering how many times in a month do I say “I don’t feel like cooking!” “I didn’t have the time to cook!” So both of us would go to our favorite restaurant in town and order a salad and end up spending more than $20. Or we’d end up at the gourmet store and order one of their sandwiches and drop $15. When all along I had the fixings for a good meal in my refrigerator and pantry. All I needed to do was plan better and use my cooking skills to come up with simple meals.

So what’s changed so far in the last month? I’ve spent less money, and have become more creative with what I have on hand. Yes, it’s difficult to walk past my favorite store every day (it’s on my walking route), but I’m saving my checking account and my health. 

It’s simple: The money suckers will always be there. You can give in and have no money left. Or you can stand strong and stop the money suckers from sucking your life away.

It’s your choice. Choose wisely.

One thought on “TIP #19: MONEY SUCKERS

Leave a Reply

