TIP #9: WORDS

This is the time of year when I examine my life to make sure I am living in accordance with God’s Word. I have been studying my Bible, listening to different sermons and praying that I can apply what I am studying. This week I’ve been delving into how our words are used either lift up or tear down.

I’ve been studying James a lot this week, and it’s interesting that what I study about is what is brought to the forefront of my life. It’s interesting how God works to help us overcome what we need to overcome and how He uses people in our lives to show us this.

Couple of my favorite verses this week

James 4:11-12 Do not speak evil against one another, brothers and sisters. Whoever speaks evil against another or judges another, speaks evil against the law and judges the law; but if you judge the law, you are not a doer of the law but a judge. There is one lawgiver and judge who is able to save and to destroy. So who, then, are you to judge your neighbor?

slander

It makes me think of times when people have slandered my name, my husband’s name,  my reputation, my family, and my relationships. It hurts worse than being injured physically. Physical injuries can heal but when people go after me with a slanderous tongue it cuts to the heart. It makes me think about what motivates us to wound each other in this way. Especially when we are to be gentle, kind, loving, peaceful, good, joyous, meek,patient, and generous with each other.

Each day I ask God to let my words be His words. Let my actions speak for God. Help me to inspire other people.

 

One thought on “TIP #9: WORDS

  1. Its like you read my mind! You seem to know a lot about this, like you wrote the
    book in it or something. I think that you can do with some pics to drive
    the message home a bit, but instead of that, this is excellent blog.
    A fantastic read. I’ll certainly be back.

Leave a Reply

