TIP #4: MENU CHOICES

Grocery Costs

What costs less organic meat and poultry or organic beans, grains, and fruits and vegetables? In my grocery store I pay $1.99 for a pound of dry organic black beans and $2.99 for a pound of organic quinoa, while organic ground chicken costs $7.99 a pound. It is what it is, money dictates our menu choices.

With the leftover savings from buying the beans and quinoa, I can buy more organic veggies than if I spent my grocery budget on the organic chicken. Counting the cost means a lot when trying to save money. I still buy organic poultry from time-to-time but only when it’s in the Manager’s Special section. My menu choices revolve around what I find on sale, through the sale’s circulars that come out every Tuesday in my mail.

I shop the outside aisles of the two regular grocery stores I shop in. I also shop in produce area of the gourmet grocery store up the street from my home, because they have cheaper prices than our regular store does. I never buy frozen meals, or pre-made food. I also shop buy what’s in season. It is common knowledge that leaf lettuce is more expensive ($3 a head) in the winter months than cabbage, kale, and Swiss chard. So I purchase those three instead. When my sons were younger I would make all our own food from scratch. Instead of buying mixes, I made my own. Nothing has changed except I now have to make things that go along with my husband’s food allergies and we’ve switched to all organic foods.

But our menu has evolved too. We eat an organic vegan diet four days a week, and eat organic poultry and wild caught salmon the other three days, along with many, many veggies, fruits, and grains.   I am allotted $100 for groceries every week. I’ve budgeted the $100 for the last 27 years. Yes, even with my sons at home I only spent what I had budgeted.  In recent years it is through sound budgeting and learning new ways of cooking, shopping, and eating that we have been able to stretch that food budget to spend only $50 a week at times (Summer months of foraging, gardening, canning and dehydrating helps out a lot). Here is a basic menu to help you get started

For the our health and the health of our families, we can use this every other day way of bringing in more nutritional food while saving money at the same time.

  • Monthly Savings: About $100 a month
  • Yearly Savings: Almost $1,100

 

 

Leave a Reply

