DAY 7: A BUSY LIFE

Just because life becomes busier, I am still on the path to a changed life in 28 days. Yes, the phone is growing out of my ear and I have less time to do what I want but this busy life is temporary.

“What else am I going to do with my time?”

busy-life

I wrote in previous installments how time is fleeting, but I truly believe that when people use the excuse“I don’t have the time” whenever someone wants to talk to them whether about important or frivolous things what they are really saying is “just leave me alone.” Is this how we should be to our friends, to people who might hold the key to your future? I don’t think so.

One of my favorite comebacks to people who tell me they don’t have time to listen to me, or even entertain my ideas because of a lack of their time is this:

“You know what’s funny is if you want something done, you have to find a busy person to do it. Busy people have the most connections and get the most done, you know it and I know it. If you’re saying this to blow me off, it’s totally cool, but if you think my ideas require a huge amount of time, you’re wrong.”

There are always going to be busy people in our lives, whether it’s us or someone we’re trying to make a connection with. Sometimes people also use this “I’m too busy” “I don’t have the time” as fear mechanism. They fear you are going to interject an idea that is so radical to their way of thinking that they may have to change their perception, and they’re afraid. So they say “I’m too busy” in hopes that you will simply walk away.

How many times has a parent said this to their children when the children just want to show what they made, give a hug, or simply express their love? When children hear “Not now, I’m too busy” enough times they stop trying to make a connection with the parent. These are the children who seek emotional support from outside peer groups.

These two statements are used so often in relationships that we’ve all heard them many times from best friends, spouses, parents, teachers, coaches, the list endless. What is the harm in putting down what you are so absorbed in to listen and connect with that other person?

Think about this the next time you use the words “I’m too busy!” “I don’t have the time!”

We have all make time for the things that matter most to us!

If you’ve read this blog long enough, you know my health rates at the top of my TIME list, so does my family and all the connections I make throughout my day.

It’s time for a change!

2 thoughts on “DAY 7: A BUSY LIFE

  1. Love it…
    I’ve always said…” Life, its What You Make of It” Now I’m Also Going to Say…
    “Time, it’s What You Make of It..!!

  2. Pingback: The real estate market is THAT busy - GemOfTheWeek.comGemOfTheWeek.com

Leave a Reply

