50 AND COUNTING

Monday marked my 50th birthday. It came and went without a thought…yeah right! When does a milestone birthday go by without a thought? NEVER! Yes, I’m 50 and counting! I celebrated this day with my husband and a few close friends. Got many phone calls from my family and Facebook birthday wishes. Then yesterday it finally hit me.

Where did the time go? It seems I went to sleep at the ripe old age of 21 and woke up at 50. Time is so fleeting, yet it’s the thing we waste the most. In my 50 years of life, I’ve accomplished many things. I married my high school sweetheart. I raised four wonderful sons. I graduated from college. I helped many people along the way. But never in my wildest dreams did I ever think I would wake up one day and be 50.

When I was a kid, I thought 50 was old. I thought my parents were ancient when they were 50. After all my mom was 50 when I was only 14. Then yesterday a good friend of mine, who’s a bit older than me, asked me how I felt now that I’m 50. I feel no different than when I was 49. What’s really interesting is that I feel no different than when I was 29. In my head I still see myself as that naive young woman of 21 who had her whole future ahead of her.

I still have my future ahead of me, we all do. There is no magic age when a person is old. It’s all how you feel. I feel young. I’m healthy. I’m not on any prescriptions. Not one joint is creaking in my body. I’m more energetic now than I was when I was in my 20’s.

Young at Heart

It’s just like the old Jimmy Durante song (If You’re) Young at Heart. My fairy tales can still come true, because I’m young at heart. I can still laugh when my dreams fall apart at their seams, because I know that there’s excitement in each new day. Yes I still have dreams and I still have goals, some are the same I’ve had for years, but I know in my heart I can accomplish them.

Be young at heart and you’ll never grow old!

One thought on “50 AND COUNTING

Leave a Reply

