I BIT OFF MORE THAN I COULD CHEW

Each month I’ve been putting myself on different challenges. Last month I wanted to lose 18 pounds. I only lost 13. This month I bit off more than I could chew and instead of losing another 16 pounds I gained back 8 pounds. Now, you’re probably saying “Welcome to my life!” I’m telling you all this because I have come to the conclusion that being on such a strict diet, and eliminating entire food groups is just as detrimental to our health as eating only processed food.

At the beginning of the month I said that I would only eat protein and vegetables. Well that became very difficult for me because I was craving something sweet. Yes, I am a sweet-a-holic. Eliminating fruit was crazy.

My own program

So what do I do now. Now I think I’m going on my own program. It includes all food. I know that if I tell myself I can’t have something that is all I want. So my own program is this. I will eat anything I want, any time I want, but only one serving of it. I will smile when I eat an apple, and giggle when I eat some chocolate. I will not condemn myself for wanting taco chips. I will also have a bowl of oatmeal for breakfast instead of eggs all the time. I don’t want to see another cooked egg.

This morning I had 2 pieces of gluten-free french toast made with coconut milk topped with unsweetened apricot jam and it was wonderful.

When it comes to fitness. I’m not going to run a marathon or have rock hard abs.  But I will be walking and hiking more. I will also be lifting weights with some of my old Joyce Vedral books.

So I bit off more than I can chew, so now it’s time to swallow my pride and get to work on February’s Living Simple Challenge.

 

One thought on “I BIT OFF MORE THAN I COULD CHEW

  1. Love this Laura…
    You know how Bad I’ve been side lined these last 3 months…
    This is “OUR” Year…
    I Don’t really care what the Scale says…
    I just want to be Fit n Fab @ 50…
    So Healthy that I can chase these GrandKids around…
    So Healthy that Fun Is Fun and not Embarrassing Pain Cuz I’m to Fat to Move…
    So Healthy that I Like MySelf Again…
    So As Soon as this Last Cold is Gone… I’m With You All The Way…
    You Go Girl… We Must Remember… We are Doing Something About the Things in Our lives we Want to Improve … Not Like Others Who Just Sit and Complain and do NOTHING… ❤ THIS IS OUR YEAR ❤

Leave a Reply

