MOTIVATIONAL QUOTES

Many moons ago I used to be a special education assistant working in a small school where the elementary, middle, and high school were all connected in one building. Part of my job was to follow certain students from class to class; taking notes for them, reading tests to them, and disciplining them if needed. One certain class was a high school English class where each morning the teacher would write a new motivational quote up on the board and have the class write this quotation in their special notebooks: “Motivational Quotations”.

After writing the quote she would spend 15 minutes going around the class asking each student what he or she thought these words meant. She would even ask me occasionally to get an adult’s view point of these words. The students loved this exercise. I saw that it helped them internalize the words of the famous and the obscure people of history. This is also where I too fell in love with quotations.

I used this same exercise when I home schooled my sons. I would write simple quotations up on the board and ask my then grade school aged sons what they thought it meant. Only my sons being as astute as they were, would take the exercise a step further and sometimes used the quotations to write journal entries, or even dig deeper into the biography of the person from whom the quotation came from. This simple little exercise which started in English and Language Arts grew to include history, science, critical thinking, philosophy, and even religious studies.

Words can take us many places, they motivate us to do good, wound when they are hurled at us, comfort when whispered to us, inspire when internalized, and heal when spoken to ourselves. The connection we have with words, and the words we use everyday come from deep within us. Surround yourself with motivational quotes and your attitude will reflect that motivation.

Here are two of my favorites:

My Favorite Health Quote

Mark Twain

What are your favorites?

 

7 thoughts on “MOTIVATIONAL QUOTES

  1. Right here is the perfect website for anyone who would like to understand this topic.
    You realize a whole lot its almost tough to argue with
    you (not that I personally will need to…HaHa).
    You definitely put a brand new spin on a topic that’s been written about for years. Great stuff, just wonderful.

Leave a Reply

