LUCKY 13

December 28: If I didn’t shoot for the moon (18 pounds) I wouldn’t be down 13 pounds.

13

Aiming high this month in my weight loss challenge has really made me aware of the accomplishments I’ve made this month. Usually I aim low like only losing about 5 pounds a month, then reality sets in and I only lose 2. This month was different. This was the first month that I not only aimed high, but I also worked my butt off (I left some of my butt on the treadmill, on the trail, and on my living room floor).

Callenetics

I’ve also learned a lot about my exercise style. I like to do floor exercises (aka: Yoga, Pilates, Callanetics) while I watch PBS documentaries or nature shows early in the morning. How interesting it is to learn while I work out. Plus, I retain so much of the information. I don’t like working out with a lot of people around me. So I hit our fitness studio (in my apartment complex) in the early morning hours. I am alone with my thoughts and with my steps.

I’ve also learned a lot about my food choices, while eating eggs for breakfast was great for the first couple of weeks, it gets old fast. So I took it up a notch and included some protein wheat grass smoothies;  high protein crepes/tortillas; high protein, no sugar muffins; and even leftovers from my dinner the night before. I still love soups for lunch, now I just make them higher in protein by adding legumes, or poultry. Dinner is really my fun time, because now I can experiment with different meals trying to find ways to compensate for grains by using different vegetables and grasses. Like wild rice or quinoa both of which are not a grain at all. Wild rice is a grass and quinoa is a seed.

Within this month I’ve learned  that my example speaks volumes. Because now my husband is also following the same diet and maybe next month he’ll also be working out.

 

One thought on “LUCKY 13

Leave a Reply

