THE BLANK CANVAS

I was watching the movie Seven Days in Utopia that talked about the sacred journey in golf. I used to love to play golf when I lived with my aunt. But really it’s all about life too. There are several places in the movie where I stopped it to take notes on it, as I often do. This one stuck out in my mind.

Seven Days in Utopia

All golf shots start with a blank canvas. We paint the shot with our eyes first so our bodies can reproduce it accurately.” (Robert Duvall’s character, Johnny Crawford).

I took this to heart because even though I am not training to play golf, but I am training to live a new way of life. A life that is free of unwanted pounds, a life full of prosperity, a life full of abundance. I started asking myself, “What am I painting on my blank canvas each day?” I replaced “golf shots” with “fulfilled dreams” and changed the quote to resemble my life. “All fulfilled dreams start with a blank canvas. I paint the dream with my eyes first so my body can reproduce it accurately”

Visualization

It’s all about visualization from the big picture down to the minute detail, just like weight lifters visualize themselves lifting the weight before they do it, I can use the same technique to help me lose weight. Like visualizing the twinkle in my eye when I am walking around in my new body, or the confidence I’ll have when I can say no to food and say yes to myself. When I visualize all the different scenarios in my life, I will then be able to control my reaction to what might happen before it does, and change the outcome.

Today is the 18th day of my 18-pound weight loss challenge. So far I’ve lost 10 pounds. I’ve also gained a whole new perspective on how to use visualization to help me reach my goal for this month.

2 thoughts on “THE BLANK CANVAS

Leave a Reply

