DAYS 3 & 4: 18 LB WEIGHT LOSS CHALLENGE (WLC)

Day 3:

Had a stressful day…had to kill a brown recluse spider which was making a web on door jamb of my front door…(I DETEST spiders). Had an interview too. Stress causes weight gain, I am well aware of that. So after the spider incident, I went for a walk in the beautiful sunshine. The interview went well but as usual I won’t find out for a couple of days. I hate the not knowing part.  Another interesting part of the day came when my husband treated me to dinner out. I thought to myself all the things I could order at my favorite Mexican restaurant, Moctezuma’s. I actually stunned myself because I ate none of the chips, drank only water, and ordered a nice Avocado Caesar Salad with a grilled chicken breast and dressing on the side. It was wonderful, I felt satisfied. Plus normally when dessert is mentioned, I am all over it. I wasn’t last night. Dessert was not even on my mind.

Day 4:

Must grocery shop today, this will be a challenge all in itself, because in order to hit the healthy areas of the store, I first have to walk through the bakery section. I will have to focus a little deeper and not go there hungry. I already have a list, that won’t be a problem. But since I am loving this new feeling of being lighter, I will have to remind myself that I’ve tasted all the sugar before and nothing tastes as good as healthy feels.

A couple of days ago I was watching a PBS presentation by Brenda Watson Heart of Perfect Health I learned a new formula for calculating how many teaspoons of sugar are in a serving of food. Because let’s face it, it’s easier to visualize what a teaspoon of sugar looks like than a gram of it. Total carb grams (-) total fiber grams (/) divided by 5.

Teaspoons of Sugar

It’s simple. Now I’ve been calculating how many teaspoons of sugar are in each of the food items I have on my pantry shelves that have a label on them. I rarely buy anything that comes in a can, jar, or box, preferring to make it myself. So I am also checking recipes to find out exactly how many teaspoons of sugar each contain and trying to find ways to lower those teaspoons to only 1 or 2.

Leave a Reply

