10 MINUTES

Replace 10 minutes of television or computer time with an 10 minutes of activity.

It is often said that American’s spend too much time in front of the boob tube or on their electronic devices. This is one reason why American children are getting heavier with each generation. When we were raising our children I used to have them earn their privileges for watching TV or their computer time by reading books. For each book read in they earned 15 to 30 minutes depending on how long the book was.

So I thought I would use this technique on myself. Only now I do it in reverse. There are only a handful of shows on television worth watching for me, and we only have regular television. So I only watch television to see any of Gordon Ramsay’s shows and the Big Bang theory, so that’s only 4 ½ hours a week. My problem is that I am tied to my computer because of work and sometimes I will work for hours without getting up. So I devised a plan to make me move for 10 minutes out of every hour. I use a kitchen timer, and set it for 50 minutes. When the timer goes off, I put on my shoes and go out to the deck, water my plants, go check on the mail, walk around the block, or if it’s raining hop on You Tube and do 10 minutes of exercise. When the ten minutes is over, I set the timer again and work for another 50 minutes and do something else that involves moving my body, preferably outside when I can.

Just think in an 8-hour day, I worked out for 80 minutes.

Now I know what you’re thinking, you couldn’t possibly do this in an office building. You can because you can go into the restroom and do some stretching, or do a 10 minute desk workout, the idea is that every time you look away from your electronic devices is better for your health and your wellbeing.

Take an activity break your health will thank you!

Leave a Reply

