Kitchen Counter Workout

Sometimes I get so bored working out by myself that I have to think of easy ways to incorporate exercise into my life. This has led me to the kitchen counter workout. Here are the exercises I do while I wash dishes, chop veggies and cook dinner.

Body Shaping in the Kitchen

  • Squats: everyday when I empty the dishwasher, I do a squat for each item that is in the dishwasher.
  • Calve Raises: Putting my clean plates into their cabinets
  • Leg Extensions: Standing and washing dishes is boring, but adding leg extensions helps the time to fly and kills two birds with one stone.
  • Back Leg Kicks: Cooking on the stove sometimes involves simmering and stirring so why not do some Back Leg Kicks.
  • Buttocks & Ab Tightening: While chopping veggies I do this for how ever long it takes me to get the chopping done.
  • Kitchen Counter Push Ups: While waiting for something to be done simmering I position myself at an angle and do push ups off the counter similar to wall push ups.
  • Standing Crunches: While waiting for food to finish cooking I tighten my abs and do standing crunches to the front and to the side.
  • Arm Circles: I do these when I have something in the oven that needs precise timing because I need to be in the kitchen anyways. I might as well give my arms a workout too.
  • Back Arm Touch: Raise your arms to shoulder height, palms facing backwards and thumbs down. Move arms to touch thumbs behind your back. Once they touch or come close to touching, move them apart an inch at a time for one rep. Doing this while waiting for the cookies to come out of the oven helps us to rationalize having one.
  • Leg Stretch Side Bend: Either lean on the counter or swing a leg up and do a side bend toward the leg that is still on the floor or the side that is not on the counter. It’s a really good stretch.

Sometimes when I want to motivate myself, every time I find myself going into the kitchen for a snack when I am not hungry I will do a set of 10 reps of each of these exercises instead. By the end of the day, I will have worked my entire body.

One thought on “Kitchen Counter Workout

Leave a Reply

