Bulk Buying

Cinnamon 3 ounces = $1.01

When someone says they buy most of their food in bulk, people think that they are stocking up for the winter or waiting for the next storm to hit. When my sons were little, I remember going to the first Sam’s warehouse store that opened in the neighboring town. It was a big deal going there, it was a family date, even though we only went for food, we had to travel up and down every aisle.  The savings were good because I could buy 5 pounds of peanut butter for the month. I also bought 5 pounds of pasta noodles, 3 pound jars of spaghetti sauce, 5 pound bags of frozen veggies, and a container of 4 dozen eggs.

 

As my sons grew so did our bulk buying, but as they left home our use of the bulk stock up stores decreased. I still buy certain items in bulk because it’s cheaper than buying individual containers. The area where bulk buying makes sense is in buying spices. I purchase all my spices in the bulk section of my grocery store. These spices are priced by the pound and I always walk away saving at least $15 to $20. The last time I went I bought turmeric spent a whopping .83 cents on an ounce when a certain online supplier has a special going on for $6.99 for 7 ounces. I also bought oregano, Italian seasoning, and thyme; these cost around .45 cents each. I also purchased 3 ounces of cinnamon for only $1.01. If I purchased them in the spice aisle of the grocery store I would have spent $27.50 but instead I only spent $3.15. Not a bad savings if I say myself, oh wait, I just did. You can have these savings too, just look around city for grocery stores that have a bulk section, they will usually have spices there at a great savings.

.83 cents worth of Turmeric

.45 cents worth of oregano

.45 cents worth of Italian Seasoning

Eating healthy doesn’t need to be expensive if we are open to the possibilities of changing our purchasing habits.

2 thoughts on “Bulk Buying

  1. Hello there, simply turned into alert to your weblog through Google, and found that it’s really informative. I am going to be careful for brussels. I’ll be grateful if you proceed this in future. A lot of other people might be benefited out of your writing. Cheers!

Leave a Reply

