Weight Loss My Way

This is the true story of how the public library is helping me to lose weight and get in better shape. A little background about my situation. I have five screws holding my left foot together. I can’t run, can’t jump, and can’t do many things I did when I was younger. I also get bored easily whether I am working out or reading a book, for that matter. I don’t have access to a health club, but I have a good pair of walking shoes and a well worn library card.

Gig Harbor Pierce County Library

The library is almost two miles from my house. After dinner, my husband and I walk to the library every night,  stop for a potty break and walk back. Now this isn’t the only exercise I do that includes the library. Because like I said I bore easily, I began checking out exercise DVDs and doing the exercises. The great thing about this is that I only get to use each DVD for 3 weeks (the allotted time for the loan), and then I have to change it up and check out another DVD. So far my boredom with exercising is nonexistent and I have been able to work out with many of the new fitness trainers and some of the old ones. I usually alternate between the  easy workouts and more difficult ones.

I have been doing this for nine weeks, so far I went from a size 18 down to between a 14 and 12. I don’t know how many pounds I’ve lost because I don’t own a scale (that’s another story for another time). Changing up my workout every three weeks gives me an incentive to get as much out of the work out as I can.  Plus, it also tells me that if I am not fond of the workout I only have to do it for three weeks. It’s funny because when I started doing Bob Harper’s Totally Ripped Core workout, my muscles were screaming at me, and I thought I would never get through it. Not only did I get through the workout, but I liked it so much that I purchased it.

University Place Pierce County Library

There really is no excuse for not getting into shape. There are many low-cost and free ways to do it. Even if you get bored, like I do, there are ways around the boredom. Lace up your walking walking shoes, your public library might have the answers you are looking for.

http://www.amazon.com/Bob-Harper-Totally-Ripped-Core/dp/B0051MKNUY

One thought on “Weight Loss My Way

  1. Just wanted to say congrats on the weight loss and doing it with an injured foot. I had foot reconstruction at 18 and was told I wouldn’t be able to do the stuff I wanted to do with sports anymore and just believed them. It’s amazing what you can do when you finally refuse to let your injury hold you back from at least trying. Keep up the great work. And I’M JEALOUS. I see all those trees and I wish I lived in a place with that many trees.

Leave a Reply

